Sausage, So Good – Brandling Villa Sausage & Beer Fest

8 02 2010

Beer and sausages is there no better combination to get you taste buds going? Well, maybe not but in order to test the theory what better event to attend than the Brandling Villa’s Sausage & Beer festival.  You know it made sense.

The event ran from 14th to the 17th January and rather give you a full blow by blow account of the proceeding I thought I would just throw up some photo’s and add a couple of observations filled out with a whole load of waffle.  OK, so what I mean is my memory is pants and I’ve lost my notes…they’re here somewhere but…

The Menu

First off I would like to congratulate Dave Carr, the manager, for putting on the event and making such a success of it, I’m sure it way exceeded his expectations, and also Stewart & Co for providing the wonderful sausages.

Cider Tart γ and I popped in on the Thursday to grab some tea and things were fairly quiet.  A couple of the regular faces were in place already sampling the wares and we partook of a deal which allowed us to try several of the varieties on offer for a damned reasonable price.  We tried sausages made with Durham Temptation, Allendale Beacon Fire and Mordue Workie Ticket amongst others (where are those damned notes?) and every one was great.  So good in fact we bought 3 packs to take home to enjoy later. The Wylam Haugh and Durham Sanctuary were both great and I’m told the ciders were also top notch.  We left after about an hour and a half and a goodly crowd and a great atmosphere was starting to build up

The usual suspects

On Friday we were joined by HH and Cider Tart σ and things were really busy.  It took us about ½ an hour to get served at the sausage counter but the good news was that the quality still up to scratch.  Finding a seat was a bit of an endeavour but we managed to dead man’s shoes a table after only a couple of minutes.  Beers sampled included both the Durham and Wylam again along with the Allendale Golden Plover.  There were other but my notes…well you get the idea.  Strangely the band arrived and appeared to have nowhere set aside to set up so started to erect their PA right in front of the toilet doors and next to one of the exits.  Thankfully sense prevailed and I assume some of the other punters were evicted from their tables to create space.  As things became even busier and the prospect of ever getting served diminished dramatically we decided to cut our loses and head back into town.

Mmmmmmm...

So pro’s and con’s?

Pro’s

Great selection of well kept beer.

Wonderful, well priced sausage also available to take home and cook yourself.

Great pub with excellent atmosphere on both nights.

Con’s

Not enough bar staff to manage the numbers who attended or change barrels quickly.

Ditto for the sausage bar.

Band space needed to be arranged in advance.

In my view the pro’s well outweigh the con’s, many of which were due to Dave’s own admission that he had totally underestimated the number of punters the event would attract.  However everyone took the wait for beer and sausages in good humour, just soaking up and adding to the atmosphere.  I know Dave has more events planned and I doubt he will make the same mistakes again and would heartily recommend anyone to make an effort to attend if they are in the area.

KC

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 02 2010
ChrisM

I enjoyed the event, I went on the Friday night after uni. I agree about not enough staff but I suspect that far more people turned up then Dave expected (corroborated by the fact that he had to order reinforcements of sausages in!). I still have a pack of Allendale Chilli Bangers in the freezer, they were my favourites!

I’m already looking forward to the next one which I believe is to be a beer and pork pie festival.

9 02 2010
anotherdrinkingblog

I was chatting to Dave last night and he was amazed at the amount of custom the Fest generated and is planning accordingly for the Pie Fest. He also gave me a preview of the beer list and it looks to have some nice stuff on it from the likes of Dark Star, Ossett, Blue Monkey and Abbeydale. I’ll post a full list up when I get a chance…maybe tonight.

30 08 2010
Local Beer Fest News – Brandling Villa Oktoberfest « Another Drinking Blog

[…] Villa has set up another special event for us all to enjoy.  Following the success of the sausage and pie festivals etc he is now giving us Oktoberfest.  Running from 14 October at 12:00 to 16 […]

Leave a Reply

