Adnams’ Bottled Beauties

24 08 2010

Given that I have several months worth of catching up to do I thought I would save a little space and combine a couple of posts here.

As a result of taking part in the inaugural BeerSwap I was kindly sent a bottle of Tally Ho by those nice folks at Adnams.  Then, as spring was beginning to brighten our lives, they also sent me a bottle of Spindrift.  Both of these I drank a while back so it is about time I let Sean and everyone else at Adnams what I thought of their fare.  I’ve had the odd pint of their beer on cask over the years but can’t say they are a brewery I would hunt out and have generally thought the beers to be averagely inoffensive so was interested to see what I would make of these bottles.

Tally Ho – Traditional Dark Ale, 7.2%

First things first I’d just like to say what a natty looking bottle of beer this is and one for which my photography does no favours.  It is definitely something which would draw my eye on a supermarket/off licence shelf so job well done in that regard.

This is described by Adnams as a Barley Wine style beer which has been brewed by them since 1880, although it hasn’t been bottled for about 10 years now.  I poured mine at room temperature which I always find preferable for darker beers and was rewarded with dark brown beer with hints of garnet red and a reasonable head which slowly dissipated.  The aromas coming out of the glass were wonderfully redolent of Christmas, a slight smokiness followed by spicy, sweet fruits all coming on like a freshly baked Christmas cake.

It tasted just as good, really smooth and easy drinking despite its strength.  The Christmas cake flavours were still there and these were joined by a bite of chocolate and a swig of coffee.  I imagine this would be great with a slice of said Christmas cake and some lovely crumbly cheese whilst sitting in front of a roaring fire on a cold winters evening.  However, given that this is my kind of beer, in reality I could happily drink this at any time of the year.

Adnams say that Tally Ho will mature in the bottle and will benefit from a period of laying down so it could get even better.  Now there is a project worth pursuing.

Spindrift – Refreshing English Beer, 5.0%

Here we have an even nattier looking bottle than the Tally Ho, all blue and fresh looking which again can’t help but make it stand out on the shelves.  Someone in the design department deserves a pat on the back for these.

This one I poured chilled(ish), about 20 minutes after I removed it from the fridge and was presented with a lovely golden beer with small white head.  Aroma wise we had some citrus fruits and a malty sweetness with nothing overpowering and all nicely balanced.  I’m not usually a golden ale kind of guy and tend to find them too hoppy for my palate but this went down a treat.  Flavour wise what we have here is a beautifully balanced mix of caramel sweet malts followed by a touch of hop bitterness which gives the beer just the right amount of edge.  Why anyone would choose to down a stubby of lager over this is beyond me, I loved it and have been recommending it to my friends & relatives as the summer beer of choice.

So there we go two resounding successes which I have to say has left me somewhat surprised.  As I stated previously I’ve never considered Adnams to be a go to brewery but maybe I need to reassess their draft beers the next chance I get.

KC

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

